Holiday to Normandie, France: Part Cinq–Headed Home

Part five??? Really???  I have to say, I think the reason why I have spent so much time on posting about this holiday is because it really impacted the way I think about WWII and history in general.  I know there are people who I love, who will never get to have the opportunity to visit these places in person so I want to show and tell as much as I can so they can understand and appreciate the things I’ve learned and seen.

I realize how incredibly lucky I am to have the opportunity to live in this part of the world and get to experience these things.  There are moments when I am looking at things as I travel that I never thought I’d be able to experience and the moment seems surreal.  I always make sure to count my blessings in those moments.

So before I get on to the last of holiday I just have to put up another album of the scenery in Bayeux, France.  There is a great D-Day museum there and it didn’t quite fit in anywhere.

Also these pictures:

DSCN0848

This parking always makes me giggle.  I wonder how the French are driving around without flat tyres!!  I drive up on the kerb and worry that I’ll hear a loud POP.  They do it here in England, but don’t have the signs to accompany it – and the kerbs are a lot lower.  Can you imagine parking like this in the states?!?! 

Also you cant go to France without the obligatory French Fries picture.  Problem is, I’ve been in England for so long that I kept calling them “chips” totally ruining the whole joke!

DSCN0922

I also wanted to make sure to post these panoramic pictures that Chris took from our various stops (aren’t smart phones great!):

IMG_3918

German Cemetery

IMG_3919

IMG_3920

Arromanches

IMG_3922

Omaha Beach

We asked for a late check out on the day we were leaving and managed to nip to Juno Beach in the morning.  The hotel turned out to be really good having our own kitchen area.  Sugar honestly was such a trooper.  Rabbits aren’t good travellers and I was worried about him the whole time.  It did affect our holiday and I don’t think we’ll take him again – mostly for his sake.  But he made it through with flying colours.  He didn’t ruin too much in the room (hey, the base board was questionable before he got to it!) and adapted really well.  He was fine being left alone while we were gone and did a lot better than most rabbits probably would! 

We packed everything up and began the drive home.  We were doing it in one go this time so there would be stops but no overnight stays.  It was 3 hours to Calais, France and the Eurrotunnel.  35 minutes in the train and then, 2 1/2 home. We just prayed that there weren’t delays this time.  Luckily this time it was a lot cooler and everyone seemed a lot more comfortable.  As a rule rabbits don’t usually eat (or anything else except sit) while travelling but Sugar got so used to it he would just nibble away.  I kept asking Chris how Sugar was doing.  At one point I asked and Chris responded, “He isnt breathing a…..”  I immediately freaked out that I had killed the rabbit by taking him with us.  Then Chris finished his sentence, “as fast as usual.”  He was told in no uncertain terms to NEVER start a sentence with the words “he isn’t breathing” unless he wasn’t, and maybe not even then!  Let me just show you his set up for the ride:

IMG_3904

That is the whole back seat.  Complete with cold pad, USB fan, all you can eat veggies, and anything else his little heart desires!  He could either hide in his carrier (which was covered for shade) or sprawl out on the seat without worrying about falling.  All while on the comfort of his rug from his cage.

As we made our way home, we noticed some pretty dark clouds rolling in.  Out of nowhere we were caught in one of the worse rainstorms I have ever driven in.  As we were making our way up the motorway at a crawl a lorry and a car passed at the same time.  The water completely engulfed the car and I could see nothing but water.  It was REALLY scary and we were very lucky (blessed) to be looked over while I just took my foot off the gas and hoped for the best.  I was glad to get out of that rain, and after that, the bridges didn’t seem so scary.  Luckily we drove away from the rain and had pretty good weather the rest of the way to train. 

There was no delay on the train and we even got on an earlier train.  A completely different experience than leaving.  While we were waiting for the train, the screen said that the motorway we HAD to go home on was closed for a junction with a diversion in place.  There was nothing we could do but hope that it would be sorted out by the time we got there. 

When we got to England we were met with rain and stand-still traffic.  We waiting in traffic for about 30 minutes and then it started moving and it was smooth sailing until we got home.

DSCN0978

DSCN1000

The many moods of France

  DSCN1017

The sunset that helped us home in England.

I love that I get to travel and I love that I am married to someone who loves it as much as I do.  I think road trips are a great way to grow a marriage.  Don’t get me wrong I turn into a monster when I am tired, as Chris (and my mom) can attest, and this holiday was no different.  But, crazy moods aside we never laugh so much as when we are on road trips.  I am glad I have such a willing and understanding (and forgiving) travel buddy!  I really believe learning and exploring together cant help but strengthen a marriage.

IMG_3921

  I cant really put into words (though I sure have tried!) how much I learned on this holiday.  But, we were glad to be home, to have Sugar be more settled, and to have our own beds and pillows!

Oooo I Love Comments!

