Tender Mercies

I wont lie… this week has been rough.  After living here in England for nearly 4 years you’d think that I would have my homesickness conquered – but I don’t… far from it.  When things are going “well” it is a lot easier to cope, but when things pile up (like they have this last week) it is almost more than I can handle at times.
Today, after an especially hard day, I decided that I needed to get out of the house.  I needed to exercise (instead of emotionally eat).  I went out with two objectives – find the signs of spring by doing something that I love (taking pictures) and also taking some deep breaths, “feeling”, and trying to find ways to improve my mood and my outlook on things. I guess that is more than two… anyway…
The second I walked out the door it started to rain (surprise, surprise – note sarcasm), but I had finally found the motivation and keep walking.  Breathing in the nice, fresh air and taking a lot of time to just… STOP and take in the view.
I am a very firm believer in God’s “Tender Mercies”.  I try my hardest when I am feeling down to find them in every day life. I find that it just re-affirms my belief in God looking out for me even though life is so hard sometimes.  Today didn’t fail to disappoint (when looking for tender mercies – it never will).  I found a lot of signs of spring and even found beauty in the day.

“We should not underestimate or overlook the power of the Lord’s tender mercies. The simpleness, the sweetness, and the constancy of the tender mercies of the Lord will do much to fortify and protect us in the troubled times in which we do now and will yet live. When words cannot provide the solace we need or express the joy we feel, when it is simply futile to attempt to explain that which is unexplainable, when logic and reason cannot yield adequate understanding about the injustices and inequities of life, when mortal experience and evaluation are insufficient to produce a desired outcome, and when it seems that perhaps we are so totally alone, truly we are blessed by the tender mercies of the Lord and made mighty even unto the power of deliverance”  Elder David A. Bednar “The Tender Mercies of the Lord.”
Below are some of the pictures I took… maybe, you can find a “Tender Mercy” for yourself in one of them.  Enjoy!
DSCF4488Pretty in Pink” DSCF4489   DSCF4492  DSCF4494  DSCF4496  DSCF4498 DSCF4499 DSCF4500 DSCF4501 DSCF4502 DSCF4503   DSCF4508  DSCF4511
One of my “Tender Mercies” DSCF4512    DSCF4519
Another “Tender Mercy” DSCF4522 DSCF4527  DSCF4539
3 thoughts on “Tender Mercies

  1. Jamie,
    I wish I had some amazing words for you to help you through your bumpy road. But all I can do is echo the words you already said. There is hope, and the Lord loves you! Through his “tender mercies” you will find peace.
    Love
    Kandis

  2. Friend,
    Thank you for those sweet pictures, I needed a reminder as well! My favorite was the single yellow flower. I sure love you and have you on my mind all the time.
    LOVE YA,
    Amanda

  3. Jamie-
    I know I haven't talked to you in years!… but I am glad I was blog-stalking and found your blog! I really needed this today…thank you for helping be a “tender mercy” in my day today… 🙂

Oooo I Love Comments!

