The Adoption Option

I was watching Dr. Phil earlier today. He is considered to be a smart man, and I admit it, I can quote some of his best advice (my favourite? “Every Relationship Needs a Hero!”). He is doing a show on teen pregnancy and teens that want babies (the later is a whole other pet peeve I have and needs a whole other post). Dr. Phil had a young teenage girl on his show who was devastated that she got pregnant. She was 14, the father of the baby wanted NOTHING to do with her or the baby, and her dad wasn’t talking to her because he was so disappointed. She was in tears and I kept thinking (and hoping) Dr. Phil would suggest that maybe adoption was an option for the situation, but sadly he didn’t. I was screaming in my mind, “THINK ABOUT ADOPTION!!!” and It makes me wonder why this isn’t a more “popular” option.

Here in England it is virtually unheard of as an option. Abortion is the general choice for most(made popular by a variety of prime time television shows), or to have the baby and raise it (the government here seems to reward that choice). But what about adoption??

I guess this option holds a special place in my heart as I’ve been deeply involved with a most courageous friend who experienced the situation. Going through that for me was difficult, but I cant imagine how it was for her – to this day I deeply admire her for that choice, especially now. I went through the journey with her and never imagined that at some time I might be on the other side of the story.

So why is this not something that we as the general public encourage? Is adoption more difficult to go through then abortion? I don’t know, but I would think emotionally it would be pretty similar, but physically it is different, but still that isn’t to say one is more difficult than the other (just one lasts longer).

I love the movie Juno, it puts such a positive light to adoption! It makes me cry every time. I am sure that a lot of it is because I am overly sensitive to anything of that nature, but I put myself in the situation and how, if the time came that adoption was my only option that there would be a self-less girl out there who would consider adoption – consider helping create a family.

This isn’t an option that Chris and I are actively pursuing, right now, we are more in the general infertility waiting stage, but for years and years I have had a strong opinion on adoption -CONSIDER IT! Not just consider it, but promote it every time we have a chance! Maybe its time I give Dr. Phil some advice???!!

What are your thoughts about adoption?

6 thoughts on “The Adoption Option

  1. I Am so with you on the Adoption Option. My oldest sister was unable to have anymore children after have 2 and she knew there was another little girl in her family. So after a long hard 3 years they finally got there little baby girl. This last April she was sealed to my sister and her family, so now she ours FOREVER!!! We love her so much and cant ever imagine our lives without her. Adoption is one of the greatest options out there!!!

  2. I think adoption is such an amazing gift – on both ends. I wish more young girls persued it. I am doing everything I can here to get you back here ASAP. You know my thoughts on everything you are going through, so I am not going to repeat them again. Just know you guys are always in my prayers. Love ya Jame.

  3. Jamie
    I can't even imagine what you have been going through. When me and emmanuel first thought about getting pregnant, my doctor found out that I had a mass(tumor) on my pituitary gland. I had so many thoughts going through my head like: I have cancer and will never be able to have a baby and other thoughts like that. The tumor made it so I could not ovulate(? on spelling) but after a while and with many dr's visits we were able to get pregnant. But the one thing that gave me comfort through it all was the Hymn “How Firm a Foundation”, this song was such a strength to me and I knew that if I trusted Heavenly Father That he would make things possible, I not sure if this helps,but keep doing what you are doing and things will work out the way they are supposed to. I love you and wish you well. I also wish you were here so you could see my OB/GYN He is WONDERFUL, he is the one that first thought there was a problem and help me get through everything. Anyway I love and miss you and hope you get to come home soon.
    Love Michelle

  4. My sweet friend I just barely was able to read this blog about the struggles you and Chris have been facing and I love you so much. I don't know or couldn't even imagine what you are going through. I think that you are so strong and I wish the best for the both of you. I think adoption is a wonderful thing for both sides. Chad and I are actually looking into adoption because I found out that I have a rare blood disorder (which is why my pregnancy was so hard with Paislee)so I might not be able to have anymore kids. I am being tested right now and we are also feeling like we are at a dead end. I wish I knew what to say to make you both feel some comfort. I love you both and you are both in my thoughts and prayers. Remember there is no testimony without the test! Keep your heads up and something will go your way.
    I LOVE YOU,
    Amanda

  5. Jamie – I love your comments. I too, can also quote Dr. Phil on a regular basis. I have two favorites: “You can't change what you don't acknowledge” and “it takes a thousand atta-boys to undo ONE negative comment”.

    Adoption is such a gift. I believe that it is one of the most self-less things a woman can do. I admire your friend, and friends of mine who have been on BOTH sides of adoption. It's a painful, emotional, and spiritual miracle. I agree that we should promote it wherever we can. I WISH abortion was abolished, instead of babies. I just don't see that happening with our new president. It really is a shame.

  6. Jamie, thanks for all of your comments on my blog. As for adoption, I love love love it. I think it is a wonderful idea in so many ways for so many different people. Abortion is the most evil thing a person can do, in my very right opinion. It makes me sick that Dr. Phil doesn't have a brain big enough to hold the concept of adoption. You should tell him a thing or two! What frustration you have faced. My mouth just drops open when I read the obstacles you have faced and are yet to come up against. You just keep on going, even if it is all uphill. Slow and steady always wins the race. (Crap, I sound like some sort of life mentor.) Anywho, keep up the writing!

Oooo I Love Comments!

